

## Virginia Association for Pupil Transportation

| James Lash<br>York County<br>President<br>757-898-0476  | Cheryl Fisher<br>Fauquier Coun<br>Vice President<br>540-422-7241 | ty Donna Carter<br>Franklin County<br>Secretary<br>540-483-5541   | Floyd Miles<br>Richmond City<br>Treasurer<br>804-674-4444 | Lonnie Reavis<br>Fairfax County<br>Past President |
|---|--|---|---|---|
| <b>Board of Directors</b><br>Region 1 – Edward Tucker   |  | The Virginia Association for Pupil Transportation (VAPT) respectfully offers the following resolution in opposition to House Bill No. 809 as currently written.   |   |   |
| Dinwiddie County<br>Region 2 – Darrin Wills<br>Hampton City   |  | WHEREAS: The pupil transportation department of the local school divisions throughout<br>the Commonwealth of Virginia are dedicated to providing the safest and most efficient<br>transportation for all students; and  |   |   |
| Region 3 – Heather Handschin<br>Spotsylvania County   |  | WHEREAS: Attaching outside advertising to the bus would surely involve penetrating the body of the bus; and   |   |   |
| Region 4 – John Grubbs<br>Frederick County  |  | WHEREAS: Any device(s) used for securing advertisements must be designed to prevent the snagging of children's clothing, backpacks or other items; and  |   |   |
| Region 5 – Jeremy Gauthier-<br>Martin   |  | WHEREAS: Covering the bus with advertisements would make buses vulnerable to graffiti and other vandalism; and  |   |   |
| Harrisonburg City<br>Region 6 – Mike Stovall  |  | WHEREAS: There are no guarantees that revenues derived from the sale of advertising won't replace revenue appropriated to support student transportation; and   |   |   |
| Roanoke County<br>Region 7 – Gary Adams<br>Scott County   |  | WHEREAS: Advertising changes the definitive and identifiable features that make the school<br>bus "sacred" with distinctive school bus yellow, unique flashing warning lamp systems, stop<br>arm signal, front safety crossing gate, yellow reflective tape around various areas of the bus,<br>and |   |   |
| Region 8 – Valerie Seaborne<br>Greensville County   |  | WHEREAS: These distinctive features send a clear message to motorists that children are present and extreme caution is required; and  |   |   |
| <b>Standing Committees</b><br>Audit – Josh Davis  |  | WHEREAS: Advertising will mar the distinctive safety features of the yellow school bus because it displaces some of them and is designed to catch the attention of passing motorists, thus creating a distraction, and  |   |   |
| Conference – Cheryl Fisher,<br>James Lash, Lonnie Reavis<br>Conference Site Selection –<br>Michael Ashby  |  | WHEREAS: Studies by the Virginia Tech Transportation Institute and the National Highway<br>Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) verify that inattention and distraction cause a<br>significant percentage of crashes, and  |   |   |
| Constitution/Bylaws – Michael<br>Brown<br>Hall of Fame – Barry Sudduth  |  | WHEREAS: According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), in 2008, almost 20 percent of all crashes involved some type of distraction, and  |   |   |
| Historian – Rebecca Mummau<br>Legislative – Justin Sarver<br>Membership – Bertha Thomas<br>Newsletter – Beth Brown<br>Nominating – Lonnie Reavis<br>Poster – Diane Stewart<br>Resolutions – Michael Ashby |  | WHEREAS: No amount of revenue generated from advertising on school buses can justify<br>the loss of one child due to driver distraction, the safety of the students must come first; now<br>therefore, be it  |   |   |
|   |  | <b>RESOLVED:</b> The Virginia Association for Pupil Transportation does hereby oppose House<br>Bill No. 809, a bill to amend and reenact 22.1-177 of the Code of Virginia, relating to the sale<br>of advertising space on school buses.  |   |   |
| Road-e-o – Cris Sprouse<br>Scholarship- Linwood Horne   |  | Given under my hand this fifth day of February in the year two thousand and eighteen.   |   |   |
| Social Media- Tanya Deckard<br>Website – Tim Parker   |  | Michael Ashby<br>Chairman, VAPT Resolutions Co  | ommittee  |   |
| Special Committees  |  |   |   |   |

Position Papers –Procedural Manual – Charmaine White Technicians – Robert Clinebell